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Code of Alabama
Title 34. Professions and Businesses. (Refs & Annos)

Chapter 43. Massage Therapists. (Refs & Annos)

Ala.Code 1975 § 34-43-15

§ 34-43-15. Suspension and revocation of license.

Currentness

(a) The board may suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew a license or impose a civil penalty after notice and opportunity
for a hearing pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, upon proof of any of the following:

(1) The license was obtained by means of fraud, misrepresentation, or concealment of material facts, including making a
false statement on an application or any other document required by the board for licensure.

(2) The licensee sold or bartered or offered to sell or barter a license for a massage therapist or a massage therapy
establishment.

(3) The licensee has engaged in unprofessional conduct that has endangered or is likely to endanger the health, safety, and
welfare of the public, as defined by the rules of the board.

(4) The licensee has been convicted of a felony or of any crime arising out of or connected with the practice of massage
therapy.

(5) The licensee has violated or aided and abetted in the violation of this chapter.

(6) The licensee is adjudicated as mentally incompetent by a court of law.

(7) The licensee uses controlled substances or habitually and excessively uses alcohol.

(8) The licensee engaged in false, deceptive, or misleading advertising.

(9) The licensee had a license revoked, suspended, or denied in any other territory or jurisdiction of the United States for
any act described in this section.

(b) Any person who has been convicted of, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to, a crime or offense involving prostitution
or other sexual offenses is ineligible to hold a license as a massage therapist for a period of at least three years after the entry
of the conviction or plea. The board retains the right to revoke a license indefinitely if the licensee is proven guilty of a crime
or of sexual misconduct. Reinstatement of licensure is contingent upon proof of weekly counseling by a licensed professional
counselor.

http://www.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/StatutesCourtRules/AlabamaStatutesCourtRules?transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Document)&rs=clbt1.0&vr=3.0
http://www.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/StatutesCourtRules/AlabamaStatutesCourtRules?guid=NEEE9C3F0BAC611DB8E46AD894CF6FAAB&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Document)&rs=clbt1.0&vr=3.0
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=l&cite=lk(ALSTT34R)&originatingDoc=N4F0347D0BADF11DB8E46AD894CF6FAAB&refType=CM&sourceCite=Ala.Code+1975+%c2%a7+34-43-15&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&pubNum=1000002&contextData=(sc.Document)
http://www.westlaw.com/Browse/Home/StatutesCourtRules/AlabamaStatutesCourtRules?guid=N38D8EB80BAC711DB8E46AD894CF6FAAB&transitionType=DocumentItem&contextData=(sc.Document)&rs=clbt1.0&vr=3.0
http://www.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=l&cite=lk(ALSTT34C43R)&originatingDoc=N4F0347D0BADF11DB8E46AD894CF6FAAB&refType=CM&sourceCite=Ala.Code+1975+%c2%a7+34-43-15&originationContext=document&vr=3.0&rs=cblt1.0&transitionType=DocumentItem&pubNum=1000002&contextData=(sc.Document)


§ 34-43-15. Suspension and revocation of license., AL ST § 34-43-15

 © 2015 Thomson Reuters. No claim to original U.S. Government Works. 2

(c) Any person who has been convicted of, or entered a plea of nolo contendere to, an offense involving prostitution or any
other type of sexual offense may not receive a license for a massage therapy establishment for a period of three years after the
date of conviction or entry of the plea. The board shall revoke the establishment license of any establishment which the board
determines is a sexually oriented business. The board may revoke an establishment license if a person is convicted of, or enters
a plea of nolo contendere to, any crime involving prostitution or any other sexual offense against a client which occurred on
the premises of the establishment.

(d)(1) Upon finding a person, governed by this chapter, performing massage therapy without having obtained a license, the
board may do any of the following:

a. Impose an administrative fine of not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000).

b. Issue a cease and desist order.

c. Petition the circuit court of the county where the act occurred to enforce the cease and desist order and collect the
assessed fine.

(2) Any person aggrieved by any adverse action of the board must appeal the action to the Circuit Court of Montgomery
County in accordance with the Alabama Administrative Procedure Act.

Credits
(Acts 1996, No. 96-661, p. 1060, § 15; Act 2000-704, p. 1430, § 1.)
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